SAIF Newsletter – Annual Awards Dinner

By June 22, 2017 Newsletters

SAIF Annual Awards Dinner

The annual SAIF awards dinner was held on 2 June at Emperors. 270 guests enjoyed the evening with students, members of the board, the management committee, sponsors and master of ceremonies for the evening, Alfred Adriaan. VIP guests included award recipients, representatives of the dti, CSIR, NFTN and Ekurhuleni East College, the host of the Gauteng Foundry Training Centre as well as representatives from Vaal University of Technology and the University of Johannesburg.

To view images of the evening, please click here.

The following awards were presented on the evening.

Past Presidents’ Award
Takalani Madzivhandila president of SAIF from 2013 to 2017

Non-Member Diploma
For the best technical paper presented during 2016 by a Non-Member to the Institute
”Additive Manufacturing Solutions to the Foundry Industry and Latest Advances”
Mr David Mauchline from Vaal University of Technology

Lauds Technical Award
For the best technical presentation presented during 2016 by a SAIF Member
”Sampling and Preparation of Samples for Spectrographic Analysis”
Mr John Taylor from Spectech SA

Insimbi Refractory and Alloy Supplies Student Award
For the highest marks achieved by a 1st year Metallurgy Student for 2016
Mr Eugene Phahlamohlaka from the Vaal University of Technology

Foseco Student Award
For the highest marks achieve by a final year Metallurgy Student for 2016
Mr Benny Molala from the University of Johannesburg

Special Learner Awards
For completion of the SAIF Foundry Diploma Programme Modules

Ryno Johan van Rooyen
Samual Ramotsibi Mashilo
Stephen Cronje
Jones Gudo
Alex Sam Mbambo
Coster Nxumalo
Mongeni Sibiya
Nathan Francis Gordon
Ndawo Musa Robert Mashinini
Nkosinathi Simon Mahlangu
Phumlani Nzima
Sabelo Sibusiso Buthelezi
Smangazo Moses Sibeko
Trust Marwisa
Tshiamo Treasure Molele
Vusani Reginald Jonga
Michael Motswaledi Mohlosana
Nkosingiphile Ncamisile Mbatha
Josiah Bokosi Mabila
Mandla Thabang Mdeliswa
Thabo Nkosi
Danie Stroebel
Banele Mazibuko

Eleven of the learners recognized at the 2017 annual awards dinner that completed the SAIF Training programme were from Prima Industrial Holdings. Other SAIF Corporate Members who also supported their workers in ensuring that they complete the SAIF Training Programme included, Rely Intracast, Scaw Metals Group and Durrans RMS Group.

We would like to thank the following sponsors for their contributions to the success of the event.

Insimbi Alloys
Lauds Foundry Equipment
IMP Scientific
Kimberley Engineering Works
MITAK – MIS Engineering
Prima Industrial Holdings
SI Group
Rely Intracast
Thos Begbie
University of Johannesburg – Metal Casting Technology Station
Vaal University of Technology

A special thank you also to various stakeholders for their support with the 54th Annual Dinner.

Alfred Adriaan
Corporate Communication
Craig Roberts
Emperors Palace
Finecast Foundry
Hands on Promotions
Janley Kotze
Latifolia Flowers
Marina Biljon
Minuteman Press
SAIF Board of Directors and Management Committee
University of Johannesburg – Metal Casting Technology Station


The South African Institute of Foundrymen is looking for a competent and passionate Training Facilitator for the SAIF Diploma in Foundry Technology Programme to be presented on behalf of SAIF to industry in the KwaZulu-Natal and surrounding areas. For more information please visit the website.


SA Institute of FoundrymenSagren Naicker

Company Name
  Kenny Kudakwashe Dube
  Joel Mutero
GHH Mining Machines Learnmore Berekayi
Hi-Alloy Castings Shoriwa Chitombo
Hot Platinum Ali Brey
Lesapima Personel Willie Brown
Micro Carbon Alloys Ainslie Hendrikus Vosloo
Mtech Cindy Sithole
Ocavo Technical Services Dunken Nyamukonda
Pfisterer Ridwan Badat
Premier Scales Brian Robinson
Rebotech Toddy Mhuruyengwe
Rello SA Simbarashe Brave Mhako
Student Jonothan Mkansi
Technical Buying Services Stephen Jardine
Thomas Foundry Jeffrey Mpokiseng Moyo
Vaal University of Technology Jan Jooste